The Northwest Territories Act gives the Legislative Council authority to legislate in most "provincial" areas of government activity except for natural resources (other than game); these are reserved to the Federal Government which alone can provide the necessary development funds. Council is conducted under rules which are an adaptation of federal parliamentary procedure. Legislation (ordinances) must receive three readings and have the assent of the Commissioner. He can reserve assent but this is a rare occurrence and the Federal Government may disallow any ordinance within two years. The Commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' Bills are allowed except for money matters which are the prerogative of the Commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the Council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the Commissioner asks for advice or seeks authority to take a particular course of action.

There is a full system of courts in the Territories, consisting of a territorial court, a police magistrate and numerous justices of the peace to serve the widely scattered settlements. Certain provincial superior courts have concurrent jurisdiction and there is provision for a Court of Appeal. The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Territories under the Criminal Code and the Department of Justice oversees the administration of justice in the Territories. The single Territorial Court is located at Yellowknife and goes on circuit to serve the northern and eastern portions of the Territories. The Judge of the Yukon Territorial Court is x officio a judge of the court in the Northwest Territories. Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

**Continuing Federal Responsibility.**—The Government Organization Act, 1966 charges the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with responsibility for the development of the North and for the general co-ordination of federal activities in the area. His responsibilities for the Territorial Government through the Northwest Territories Act have been described as has the operation of government services by the staff of his Department. Other Federal Government agencies, such as the Northern Health Service of the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, are responsible for health and police services with the Territorial Government sharing their costs. The Department of Transport operates mainline airports throughout the whole of the North and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides special shortwave northern broadcasts and maintains a growing number of local stations in the Territories. Federal cost-shared national assistance programs, within the competence of the Territorial Government, are available to it on the same conditions as to the provinces.

There are about 6,000 Indians and over 10,000 Eskimos in the Northwest Territories for whom the Federal Government has a special responsibility. Although there are no Indian reserves in the Territories, two treaties were entered into which established certain claims to land and certain other rights. As in the provinces, legislative authority with respect to Indians and lands reserved for Indians is vested exclusively in the Federal Government and this authority extends to Eskimos.

In addition to the many provincial-type services such as health and education operated by the Federal Government and for which the Territory pays in respect of residents other than Indians and Eskimos, it also provides extensive financial assistance to the Territorial Government under special federal-territorial financial agreements which have usually spanned a period of five years. These agreements serve both to allocate the financial responsibility of each government for the provision of services in the Territories and to fix the amount of the federal financial payments to the Territorial Government for the life of the agreement. At this stage of development, territorial revenues fall far short of meeting the expenditures of the Territorial Government. Under the financial agreements, all taxes on personal and corporate incomes, corporation taxes and succession duties are reserved to the Federal Government.

The amount of federal financial assistance to the Territories is increasing substantially as the Territorial Government assumes responsibility for additional services. Excluding special accounts such as housing loans and amortization of borrowings for which individual